Non-emergency contact information for
Avon and Somerset Constabulary

Contact information
Force information
Jurisdiction map

Not available
From abroad
Not available
Other useful numbers
Police Air Service
01924 292 252
British Transport Police
0800 40 50 40
Civil Nuclear Police
03303 135 400
0800 555 111
Action Fraud
0300 123 2040
Anti-terrorism Hotline
0800 789 321

About Avon and Somerset Constabulary

Avon and Somerset Constabulary is the territorial police force responsible for law enforcement in the county of Somerset and the now-defunct county of Avon, which includes the city and county of Bristol and the unitary authorities of Bath and North East Somerset, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire.

As of September 2017 the force had a workforce of 2,630 police officers, 2,275 police staff, 315 police community support officers and 340 special constables.[4] The constabulary provides service for over 1.6 million people and, in terms of geographic area of responsibility, is the 11th largest in England and Wales.

The Avon and Somerset Constabulary is overseen by the Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Commissioner, an elected position which replaced the Avon and Somerset Police Authority in November 2012. The police and crime commissioner is scrutinised by the Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Panel, consisting of elected councillors from the police area. The first police and crime commissioner, who was elected on 15 November 2012 and took office on 21 November 2012, is Sue Mountstevens. She had previously been a magistrate and a member of the police authority, and had stood for election as an independent.

The headquarters of the force is currently Portishead in North Somerset, close to the B3124, it was chosen as the site for the new HQ when the Bristol Constabulary's Bridewell Headquarters was deemed to be too small to continue serving as the Force's HQ. The Portishead complex cost £31 million to construct and was opened by Queen Elizabeth II on 2 June 1995.

Avon and Somerset Constabulary opperate a directorate based policing model. Currently the directorates are:

  • Response (Patrol, Communications and Detainee Investigations)
  • Investigations and Operations Support (including Complex investigations, Criminal Justice and Intelligence)
  • Neighbourhood and Partnerships (including Road Safety and Integrated Offender Management)
  • Tri-Force Collaborations with Gloucestershire and Wiltshire Police (including Road Traffic Policing, Dogs and Firearms) {Due to end in April 2019}
  • Southwest regional Collaborations (Regional Organised Crime Unit (ROCU), Counter terrorism unit, Forensics)
Neighbourhoods covered by Avon and Somerset Constabulary
Frome Town, Frome Rural North, Frome Rural South, Shepton Mallet Town, Shepton Mallet Rural, Wells City, Wells Rural, Glastonbury Town, Street, Somerton and Langport, South Petherton, Martock and the Hamdons, Wincanton Town, Wincanton Rural East, Wincanton Rural West, Chard Town, Chard Rural West, Ilminster and Windwhistle, Crewkerne Town, Crewkerne Rural, Yeovil Rural, Yeovil Town, Portishead, Clevedon and Villages, Yatton, Nailsea, Redwood, Backwell and Wrington, Yeo Vale, Bristol Airport, Worle and North Weston, Weston Villages, Bournville, Ashcombe, Weston Central, Uphill, Weston Town Centre, Sedgemoor North West, Sedgemoor North East, Sedgemoor South West, Burnham and Highbridge, Bridgwater Town Centre, Bridgwater Town West, Taunton East, Holway and Killams, Taunton North, Taunton West, Taunton Central, Halcon (One Team), Exmoor, Minehead, Williton and Watchet, Wellington Centre and South, Wellington North, Bridgwater Town East, Sedgemoor South East, St Pauls, Montpelier and St Werburghs, Frome Vale, Eastville, Hillfields, St George Central, St George Troopers Hill, St George West, The Dings and St Philips Marsh, Barton Hill, Easton and Redfield, Trinity, Avonmouth and Shirehampton, Kingsweston, Henbury and Brentry, Lockleaze and Eastgate, Henleaze and Westbury-on-Trym, Southmead, Horfield, Stoke Bishop, Cotham, Redland, Bishopston, Stokes Croft and St Michael’s, Old City Docks, Broadmead, Redcliffe and Temple, Harbourside and Hotwells, Clifton, Clifton Down, Bedminster, Bishopsworth, Hartcliffe and Withywood, Hengrove and Whitchurch, Stockwood, Brislington West, Brislington East, Knowle, Filwood, Southville, Windmill, Downend, Frenchay and Stoke Park, Staple Hill and New Cheltenham, Kingswood and Woodstock, Hanham and Longwell Green, Bitton and Parkwall, Boyd Valley, Emersons and Lyde Green, Yate and Dodington, Chipping Sodbury, Frampton and Charfield, Winterbourne, Thornbury, Severn Vale and Pilning, Filton, Stoke Gifford, Patchway and Cribbs Causeway, Bradley Stoke, University of West of England, Bath City Centre, Bath City Outer, Bath City South, Bath City West, Keynsham, Pensford and Chew Valley, Somer Valley, Peasedown and Paulton, North Mendip.

Avon and Somerset Constabulary jurisdiction area