Non-emergency contact information for
Wiltshire Police

Contact information
Force information
Jurisdiction map

Not available
From abroad
+44 1380 826614
Other useful numbers
Police Air Service
01924 292 252
British Transport Police
0800 40 50 40
Civil Nuclear Police
03303 135 400
0800 555 111
Action Fraud
0300 123 2040
Anti-terrorism Hotline
0800 789 321

About Wiltshire Police

Wiltshire Police, formerly known as Wiltshire Constabulary, is the territorial police force responsible for policing the county of Wiltshire (including the Borough of Swindon) in the south-west of England. In terms of officer numbers, it is the third smallest force in the United Kingdom (after the City of London Police and Warwickshire Police) but has the 20th largest geographic area to police of the 45 territorial police forces of the country.

Wiltshire Police has two divisions – Swindon and Wiltshire – incorporating eight Community Policing Team areas; Swindon, Royal Wootton Bassett, Chippenham, Devizes, Salisbury, Amesbury, Trowbridge and Warminster.

Each Wiltshire Police sector has several specialist teams, namely:

  • Community Policing Teams (CPTs), each with Police Officers (including Special Constables), Community Coordinators (formerly Beat Managers), PCSOs and Local Crime Investigators (LCIs) working together to combine the role of traditional Neighbourhood Policing Teams with Response Officers providing start-to-finish coverage of incidents. There are seven CPT areas with five teams per area – equating to approximately 35 teams. The earlier split NPT/Response setup has been completely phased out in Wiltshire.
  • Criminal Investigation Departments (CID) detect serious crime, operating from hubs at Swindon, Melksham and Salisbury.
  • Forensic Services investigate crime scenes, operating from the same three hubs.
  • CTT (Community Tasking Team) is a proactive unit that targets persistent criminals and focuses on specific operations.

The headquarters of Wiltshire Police is at London Road, Devizes, where it has always been based because of its geographical position in the centre of Wiltshire. The operational headquarters are at Melksham for county division and Gablecross, South Marston, for Swindon division. The emergency communications centres for Wiltshire Police are at Devizes and Gablecross. The SNEN non-emergency call centre is at Devizes. Devizes is also the home of the Dog Squad and the training facilities for all new recruits.

Neighbourhoods covered by Wiltshire Police
CPT Amesbury, CPT Chippenham, CPT Devizes, CPT Royal Wootton Bassett, CPT Salisbury, CPT Swindon, CPT Trowbridge, CPT Warminster.

Wiltshire Police jurisdiction area