Non-emergency contact information for
Hertfordshire Constabulary

Contact information
Force information
Jurisdiction map

Not available
From abroad
Not available
Other useful numbers
Police Air Service
01924 292 252
British Transport Police
0800 40 50 40
Civil Nuclear Police
03303 135 400
0800 555 111
Action Fraud
0300 123 2040
Anti-terrorism Hotline
0800 789 321

About Hertfordshire Constabulary

Hertfordshire Constabulary is the territorial police force responsible for policing the county of Hertfordshire in England. Its headquarters is in Welwyn Garden City. As of March 2019, the force consists of over 1,900 police officers, 235 PCSOs, over 1500 police staff, as well as being supported by more than 410 special constables.

Hertfordshire Constabulary local policing is overseen by the Local Policing Command, headed by a Chief Superintendent. The county is sub-divided into 10 Community Safety Partnerships, which broadly correspond to the local Borough and Council areas. The 10 CSPs, each headed by a Chief Inspector are: Watford, Three Rivers, Dacorum, Welwyn and Hatfield, St Albans, Hertsmere, East Herts, Broxbourne, Stevenage and North Herts.

Each Community Safety Partnerships has:

  • 5x Intervention and Response Teams: Each team is headed by a sergeant and aligned to a shift pattern, there is always at least one team on duty at any time during the year. Intervention teams respond to 999 and non emergency calls and perform general patrol duties.
  • Safer Neighbourhood Teams: Combined teams of PCs and PCSOs covering local and quality of life issues. Each Ward/Neighbourhood has at least one PC and PCSO to maintain an up-to-date knowledge of local issues and to address them. Each town is headed by a Sergeant, with an Inspector supervising on a CSP level.
  • Local Crime Unit: Team of Detectives with a remit covering burglaries to assaults.

Local policing is supplemented by an array of specialist units, some of which are collaborated with Bedfordshire and Cambridgeshire. These include:

  • Armed Policing Unit: Collaborated unit working across the three counties providing Armed Response Vehicles, crewed with Authorised Firearms Officers to assist in the response to potentially dangerous incidents such as those involving firearms and knives. The unit also provides a Specialist Firearms Officer capability for hostage rescue and close protection.
  • Dog Unit: Collaborated unit providing a 24/7 Police dog service for tracking, searching and public order duties. The unit also provides pre-planned capabilities for explosive and drugs search.
  • Road Policing Unit: Collaborated unit, primarily patrol and respond to serious incidents on the motorway and other road networks. Other duties include responsibilities for taking over pursuits, traffic management and road death investigation.
  • Major Crime Unit: Collaborated unit, responsible for the investigation of murder, stranger rape and kidnap, amongst others.
Neighbourhoods covered by Hertfordshire Constabulary
East Herts Rural, Bishops Stortford and Sawbridgeworth, Ware, Hertford, Welwyn Hatfield North, Welwyn Hatfield South, Welwyn Hatfield West, Abbots Langley, Rickmansworth and District, Oxhey, Watford North, Watford Central, Watford Outer, Berkhamsted and Tring, Hemel Hempstead North Rural, West and Central, Hemel Hempstead East, Kings Langley and Hemel Hempstead South, Stevenage North, Stevenage Central, Stevenage South, Harpenden and Rural, St Albans Central, North and West, London Colney, St Stephens and St Albans East, Royston and Royston Rural, Letchworth and Baldock Town, Hitchin Urban, Hitchin Rural, Bushey and Radlett, Borehamwood and Elstree, Potters Bar and Shenley, Hoddesdon, Cheshunt East, Cheshunt West.

Hertfordshire Constabulary jurisdiction area