Non-emergency contact information for
British Transport Police

Contact information
Force information
Jurisdiction map

0800 405040
From abroad
Not available
Other useful numbers
Police Air Service
01924 292 252
British Transport Police
0800 40 50 40
Civil Nuclear Police
03303 135 400
0800 555 111
Action Fraud
0300 123 2040
Anti-terrorism Hotline
0800 789 321

About British Transport Police

British Transport Police look after the policing of Britain's railways, providing a service to rail operators, their staff and passengers across the country. They also police the London Underground, Docklands Light Railway, the Midland Metro tram system, Croydon Tramlink, Tyne and Wear Metro, Glasgow Subway and Emirates AirLine.

The number of people using Britain's railways is predicted to rise by 16-20% by 2019, so BTP are expected to respond to an increase in demand for their services. As a result, they have restructured from seven areas across Britain into three larger divisions. This new structure will deliver a more efficient Force, generating savings to reinvest in more police officers across the railway network.

The British Transport Police divisions represent three geographic regions of railways around Britain, along with our Force Headquarters in London:

  • Force Headquarters (FHQ) - retains overall command of our activity and houses central departments and functions, including responsibility for resources such as forensics, CCTV and major investigations. The headquarters are in Camden Town, London.
  • B Division - London and the South East of England are vital areas of rail travel. It accounts for the majority of passenger journeys in Britain across East Anglia, the south coast and the capital, including London Underground and Docklands Light Railway. The B Division Commander is Chief Superintendent Martin Fry.
  • C Division - Pennine, Midlands, South West and Wales is the largest of the divisions, covering rail networks beyond the South East. It includes the policing of major transport hubs such as Birmingham, Leeds and Manchester. The C Division Commander is Chief Superintendent Allan Gregory.
  • D Division - Scotland is a unique division working under Scottish law and legislation that requires dedicated officers to police their railways. The D Division Commander is Chief Superintendent Eddie Wylie.

British Transport Police jurisdiction area