Non-emergency contact information for
Essex Police

Contact information
Force information
Jurisdiction map

Not available
From abroad
+44 1245 491491
Other useful numbers
Police Air Service
01924 292 252
British Transport Police
0800 40 50 40
Civil Nuclear Police
03303 135 400
0800 555 111
Action Fraud
0300 123 2040
Anti-terrorism Hotline
0800 789 321

About Essex Police

Essex Police is a territorial police force responsible for policing the county of Essex, in the east of England, consisting of over 1.7 million people and around 1,400 square miles. It is one of the largest non-metropolitan police forces in the United Kingdom, with over 2,900 police officers.

Essex Police headquarters, the Force Control Room (FCR) (where emergency calls are routed to) and Essex Police College, are all located in Chelmsford.

Strategically, Essex is an important force. Bordering London, the force area consists of affluent city suburbs, large urban areas, industrial centres, rural villages, London Stansted Airport (one of the busiest international airports in the country) and two of the UK's major ports (Harwich and Tilbury). The force also polices one of the largest expanses of coastline of any force in the UK. The police area covers 1,400 square miles (3,600 km2) and has a population of around 1,700,000.

Previously a number of specialist teams within Essex were grouped into the Mobile Support Division. In 2012 Essex Police moved away from the divisional structure to a patrol based structure and the former components of the Mobile Support Division were moved to new command structures. Roads Policing and Dog Section became part of the Response and Patrol function.

Key people in Essex Police
  • Chief Constable: BJ Harrington QPM
  • Deputy Chief Constable: Andy Prophet
  • Deputy Chief Constable: Andy Prophet
  • Deputy Chief Constable: Andy Prophet
  • Deputy Chief Constable: Andy Prophet
Neighbourhoods covered by Essex Police
Braintree South, Hedinghams, Fryerns, Vange, St Martins, Nethermayne, Lee Chapel North, Langdon Hills, Laindon Park, Ockendon, Belhus, Aveley, Yeldham, SW Thurrock, Chafford Hundred, Grays North, Grays East, Grays South, Grays Central, Orsett, Horndon, Bulphan, Tilbury, Chadwell, East Tilbury, Cressing and Stisted, Stanford, Corringham West, Corringham East, Brentwood Town Centre, Brentwood North, Hutton and Shenfield, Brentwood South, Epping Town, Epping West, Waltham Abbey, Three Fields, Loughton, Buckhurst Hill, Chigwell, Debden, Epping South East, Ongar, Harlow Central, Harlow West, Harlow North, Harlow East, Chelmsford Town, Harlow South, Stansted Terminal South, Stansted Terminal North, Bocking, Moulsham, Waterhouse, Goat Hall, Marconi, Broomfield, Braintree Town, Boreham, Springfield, Baddow and Galleywood, Chelmsford Rural South, South Woodham Ferrers, Chelmsford Rural West, Maldon, Heybridge, Great Totham, Southminster, Notley and Rayne, Burnham, Purleigh, Saffron Walden Central, Thaxted, Felsted, Dunmow Central, Hatfield Heath, Stansted North, Clavering, Colchester Town, Hatfield Peverel, Christchurch, Harbour Berechurch, Rowhedge, Mersea Abberton Fingringhoe, Birch and Layer, Tiptree, Stanway, Shrub End, Lexden Prettygate, St Andrews St Annes, Witham South, Wivenhoe, Highwoods Mile End and St. Johns, Dedham, Horkesley, Chappel, Copford, Clacton West, Clacton Central, Clacton east, Kirby Cross, Witham North, Frinton, Walton, Thorpe Le Soken, Weeley, St Osyth, Brightlingsea, Alresford, Gt Bentley, Elmstead Market, Ardleigh, Kelvedon, Manningtree, Bradfield, Ramsey and Parkeston, Oakley, Harwich, Benfleet, Thundersley, Hadleigh, Canvey, Rayleigh, Three Colnes, Rochford, Hockley, Hullbridge, Ashingdon and Canewdon, Wakering, Southend Central, Leigh, Blenheim, Eastwood, Shoebury, Halstead, Southchurch, Billericay East, Billericay West, Burstead, Crouch, Wickford Castledon, Wickford Park, Wickford North, Pitsea South East, Pitsea North West.

Essex Police jurisdiction area