Non-emergency contact information for
Northumbria Police

Contact information
Force information
Jurisdiction map

Not available
From abroad
+44 1661 872 555 
Other useful numbers
Police Air Service
01924 292 252
British Transport Police
0800 40 50 40
Civil Nuclear Police
03303 135 400
0800 555 111
Action Fraud
0300 123 2040
Anti-terrorism Hotline
0800 789 321

About Northumbria Police

Northumbria Police serves a population of 1.5 million people and covers an area of more than 2,000 square miles in the North East of England, from the Scottish border down to County Durham and from the Pennines across to the North East coast.

Northumbria is one of the largest in the country and is recognised as one of the top performing in the UK.

Here’s how our personnel are divided up within the various departments of Northumbria Police:

  • 3,134 officers
  • 1,669 police staff
  • 205 police community support officers
  • (As of 01.05.2020)

Area Commands

Northumbria Police provides a comprehensive policing service to communities across the North East via three Area Commands – Northern, Central and Southern.

Between them, they cover the local authority areas of Newcastle, Gateshead, South Tyneside, North Tyneside and Sunderland – which are all predominantly urban – as well as Northumberland, which has both urban and rural areas.

Each area command has a Chief Superintendent who operates at a strategic level, working with partners, and is divided into policing sectors which have both response and neighbourhood policing teams.

Neighbourhoods covered by Northumbria Police
Sunderland Central, Sunderland East, Sunderland West, Sunderland North, Washington, Houghton, West Shields and Riverside, East Shields, Cleadon and Whitburn, Jarrow and Hebburn, Central Gateshead, East Gateshead, South Gateshead, Inner West Gateshead, Outer West Gateshead, North Shields, Whitley Bay, Wallsend, Killingworth, Outer West Newcastle, Gosforth and Great Park, Blakelaw, Kenton and Fawdon, Fenham and Scotswood, Benwell and Elswick, Newcastle Central, Jesmond and Heaton, Byker and Walker, Bedlington, Ashington, Blyth, Cramlington, Morpeth, Alnwick, Berwick, East Tynedale, West Tynedale.

Northumbria Police jurisdiction area